Tuesday, June 16, 2009


K-On! (けいおん, Keion!) is a Japanese four-panel comic strip manga written and illustrated by Kakifly. The manga started serialization in Houbunsha's seinen manga magazine Manga Time Kirara since the May 2007 issue, and also started a bimonthly serialization in Houbunsha's magazine Manga Time Kirara Carat since the October 2008 issue. An anime adaptation produced by Kyoto Animation began airing in Japan on April 3, 2009. The title of the series comes from the Japanese word for light music, keiongaku (軽音楽). This is not to be confused with the western meaning of light music—a more accurate translation might be contemporary or pop music.


K-On! began as a four-panel comic-strip manga written and illustrated by Kakifly. The manga started serialization in Houbunsha's Manga Time Kirara manga magazine in the May 2007 issue sold on April 9, 2007. The manga has also appeared as a guest bimonthly serialization in Manga Time Kirara's sister magazine Manga Time Kirara Carat starting with the October 2008 issue sold on August 28, 2008. The first bound volume was released on April 26, 2008, and the second followed on February 26, 2009.


An anime adaptation directed by Naoko Yamada, written by Reiko Yoshida, and produced by Kyoto Animation began airing on April 3, 2009 on TBS in Japan. The episodes began airing on subsequent networks at later dates which include BS-i, MBS, and Chubu-Nippon Broadcasting. The TBS airings are in 4:3 ratio, and the series began airing in widescreen on BS-TBS on April 25, 2009.

The anime's opening theme is "Cagayake! Girls" by Aki Toyosaki with Yōko Hikasa, Satomi Satō and Minako Kotobuki. The ending theme is "Don't say 'lazy'" by Hikasa with Toyosaki, Satō and Kotobuki. The opening and ending theme singles were released on April 22, 2009 by Pony Canyon. A single containing the insert song "Light and Fluffy Time" (ふわふわ時間, Fuwa Fuwa Time?) used in episode six was released on May 20, 2009. A series of four character song singles will be released containing songs sung by the voice actresses of the four main characters. The singles for Yui (by Toyosaki) and Mio (by Hikasa) will be released on June 17, 2009, and the singles for Ritsu (by Satō) and Tsumugi (by Kotobuki) will be released on August 26, 2009. The anime's original soundtrack, largely composed by Hajime Hyakkoku, was released on June 3, 2009.

PS : There are already 12 episode of K-On anime in the internet. The finale will be revealed this Friday. You can search it easily. Enjoy!


Post a Comment